South West Rocks Surf Life Saving Club celebrates successful season | Photos

The South West Rocks Surf Life Saving Club celebrated another successful season at their recent presentation. Many members attended to celebrate the achievements during the 2017/18 season.

Special mention to the organisers and catering staff.

Over the busy season, there was seven patrol teams, two rescues, 54 first aid treatments, 133 preventative actions, four beach closures, 5913 public attendances for the season and a total of 5194 hours of patrol from the SWRSLSC members.

The 2017 SLSNSW IRB State Championships were held at South West Rocks and they hold the honour of hosting the event again this year on June 30 and July 1.

The Club also held the SLSNSW Country Championships for the third year.

Presented awards were: G & B Crossingham Memorial Award for Most Consistent Patrol Member – Dave Pearson. Garry Gillies Memorial Award for Cadet of the Year – Brianna Lieshke. Colin and Pam Ball Achievers and Encouragement Award – Brayden Cook. Ben Clarke Memorial Award for ‘Rookie of the Year’ – Nathan King. Gordon ‘Coogan’ Lawrence Competitor of the Year Award – Kirralea Silvia/Molly Irving. Roger Whitmore Memorial Award for Volunteer of the Year – Grahame Ball. John Hogno Memorial Award for Services to Lifesaving – Ian ‘Spook’ Everingham. W ‘Tom’ Saul Memorial Award for Outstanding Female of the Year – Helen King. Terry Trevillian Memorial Award for Outstanding Male of the Year – Ian Creswick. Kevin Ruscoe Memorial Award for Club Person of the Year – Malcolm Green. Patrol of the Year – Patrol 1. President’s Award – Glenn Etheridge. Director of Administration Award – Meryl Smithett. Director of Lifesaving Award – Mick Healey.